Don’t you want to share your slides? Here’s an easy way to do it!

A friend of mine here at Wash U, Liz Dorland, shares all her talks. She works on effective science teaching, so I refer to her talks often. Liz uses Slideshare for this. Since she discovered it, it might be good if I use her words for it:

“Actually, Slideshare doesn’t require you to login to view. You can also click to view full screen, and the links in it are live.
You can also download a copy directly from the same webpage. It’s too big to email, so that’s the best option.
This page has all 20+ of my slideshare uploads going back quite a few years.
I’m a huge Slideshare fan. You can find presentations on just about subject you want, and it’s great for students to share their work or to get ideas.”

I can’t say I’ve researched this very much, or that I’m aware of other such services, but I like this one so far. I’m going to start putting talks here. Thus far I’ve only put three up. One is on how I made the transition from wasps to social amoebae. One is on creativity in research. One is on women’s and minority issues.

I would love to put up more of my talks, including the ones I used to use in classes before I jettisoned that approach. I’ll just have to be sure I don’t violate other people’s copyrights too much with the images!

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we all shared our talks and images?

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Helping others, Presentations and seminars, Scientific community, Scientific meetings, Seminars, Talks, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

