The best way to summarize your research on your webpage

Will people smile when they go to your research web page? Will they immediately know what you do, broad and narrow? Do you delight? I certainly hope you don’t overwhelm with words. I just opened an investigators web page to complete delight. Sven Saupe has the best pictoral illustration of what he is interested in that I have seen. You can see it on his web page. Maybe it helps that he studies fungi that allow filaments to go everywhere, facilitating illustration. He shows them touching in conspecific cell fusion. He shows mycoparasitism with two colors, pathogens, endophytes, lichens, and interactions with nematodes.

IMG_0955Can you make an illustration that sums up your research interests?  Here is a quick try for mine, just to paste something in that is a sketch. I’ll fix it someday, but it made me think. I’ve written a few papers lately that really could have used some nice illustrations, perhaps drawn by someone more talented than I. Just like dessert clearly goes to a different stomach, visuals tickle my curiosity in a different way from words. Both are powerful. Now go look at Sven’s page and think about how you might do your own. Or better yet, send me some sketches and I’ll post them here.

About Joan E. Strassmann

Evolutionary biologist, studies social behavior in insects & microbes, interested in education, travel, birds, tropics, nature, food; biology professor at Washington University in St. Louis
This entry was posted in Communication, Presentations and seminars, Public Communication and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The best way to summarize your research on your webpage

  1. Ravindra says:

    Hi Joan,
    I find your blog quite useful. I made a short cartoon strip explaining my PhD thesis in one page after getting inspired by this blog post!
    Please take a look at it: http://antists.wordpress.com
    Thanks
    Ravi

Leave a Reply

